This form does not yet contain any fields.
    Powered by Squarespace
    « Two Gaffer Elite Players Named to Under Armour Underclassmen Games | Main | Sweetlax 2019 Wins Division Championship; Other Results from Sweetlax Invitational »

    Two Albany Capital Classic Championships for Gaffer Elite Lacrosse

    from press releases

    2019 Champions

    On Sunday June 18th the 2019 Gaffer Elite Team won their Bracket Championship at the Capital Classic on the SUNY Albany campus (4-0). This represents the first summer Championship for the 2019 Team in 2017 and part of the three Titles won by the Gaffer Elite program at our state’s capital.
    The defense was a huge part of the Championship 7-6 victory over a strong FCA 2019 team. The goalie duo of Nathan Lehr and Connor Doyle were huge, especially during the last five minutes of play. The long poles turned away many scoring opportunities with the strong play of: James Bundy, Cameron Burke, Bryan Duran, Mason Mabee, Kevin Vicari, David Voigt and Dean Zervos.
    At midfield the hustle plays between the lines were successfully completed by: Eddie Baker, Joe Chedzoy, Andre Guccia, Matt Thrasher, Jake Topa and Louie Webster. A key midfielder in gaining control of the ball was standout FOGO Brady Hope, who was above 70% most of the day.
    The biggest part of the scoring was done by the Gaffer Elite attack, which was led by Jared Butler, Jack Duthie, Brendyn Hogue, Connor Kinney and Billy Kozloski.




    2018 Champions

    The 2018 Gaffer Elite Team won their fifth Championship over the last two years by going 4-0 in the 2018 Division of the Albany-Capital Classic. This Title winning effort was the trifecta of Championships for the GEL program as they also were the best in the 2019 and 2020 Divisions for the first time in program history!


    Offensively the Gaffer Elite attackmen were led by: Andy Davis, Connor DiDomineck, Kurtis King, Connor Sullivan and Sean Wiser. This crafty unit was dangerous throughout the Tournament from all areas inside the restraining box. The hardest work was done between the restraining lines by the GEL midfielders: Brandon Bender, Austin Blumbergs, Cian Collins, Tyler Finch, Matt Maslin, Wyatt Merta, Colin Tyrrell and Quinn Webster.


    This run of Championship efforts has really been highlighted by the consistently stout long pole defensive play of Connor Borchardt, Ryan Burns, Nick Conklin, Zach Drewno, Peter Estill, and Erick Santamaria and injured Keegan Smith. A central cog and director of this unit over this impressive run has been goalie Cody Chanthavong. 


    This team represents eleven of the 17 school districts having players in the GEL program: Bath, Binghamton, Chenango Forks, Chenango Valley, Corning, Elmira, Horseheads, Ithaca, Johnson City, Maine Endwell, Owego, Penn Yan, Union Endicott, Vestal, Watkins Glen, Wellsboro and Whitney Point.



    PrintView Printer Friendly Version

    EmailEmail Article to Friend