Three OFA Students Receive 2017 Bassett-Hall “Lacrosse Plus” Awards
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 3:35PM

from press release

Abigail Higgins, Brittany Hathaway and Matthew Maslin have been honored for their outstanding contributions to high school lacrosse and the community by the Charles H. Bassett Youth Foundation. The three were given the 2017 Bassett-Hall “Lacrosse Plus” Award on May 16 in a ceremony at Owego Free Academy. They were recognized for their achievements in the Owego Free Academy girls and boys lacrosse programs and volunteer community service activities.


Called the “Lacrosse Plus” Award, the certificate and award of $ 250 is given honor of Robert Clarke Bassett, a former lacrosse player at Fayetteville-Manlius High School, Deerfield Academy and Dartmouth College, and his high school coach and social studies teacher, Thomas Wright Hall, a former lacrosse player at Cortland State University who began the Fayetteville-Manlius High School lacrosse program in 1964. He is enshrined in the Central New York Athletic Hall of Fame, the High School Lacrosse Hall of Fame and is one of the founders of scholastic lacrosse in New York State and nationally.


Along with Bob Bassett and OFA Boys coach Andrew Race  and Girls coach Jason Westervelt, Tom Hall attended the ceremony and congratulated the students for their excellence in lacrosse, service leadership to others and positive character development.



Article originally appeared on (
See website for complete article licensing information.